Bouillon Bilk – A great way to end 2012

It is always nerve wrecking trying to find that ideal restaurant for New Years’ Eve… and for the last couple years I’ve been lucky enough to pick some decent one.

This year we went to Bouillon Bilk – set menu at 55$ – 5 course tasting menu.

First Course – Scallop
BouillonBilk-1

Second Course – Deconstructed Shrimp Cocktail
BouillonBilk-2

Third Course – Pigeon with consomme
BouillonBilk-3

fourth course – Steak with wild mushrooms and bone marrow

T-T forgot to take photo

fifth course – mignardise and an pistachio dessert

BouillonBilk-5

BouillonBilk-4

Everything from food, service and presentation was spot on. Pressure is high on New Year’s eve and I felt that the restaurant did really well. I would certainly go back again and try the regular menu.

I think the only complaint that some people had was that the portion was a little on the small side. I didn’t mind it that much considering how much I have been eating during the holidays. It’s very rare that I give really high marks for a restaurant but this one gets an 8.5/10…. and yes their wine pairing is spot on!

This place certainly is not a novelty and I am sure it is here to stay. The Executive Chef there used to be part of the team at XO and Bronte. Two restaurants that I enjoyed in Montreal.

Bouillon Bilk on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

